Thermal Energy Storage (TES)

Coordinator: Salvatore Vasta (CNR)
Deputy: Christoph Zauner (AIT)



The sub-programme on thermal energy storage (SP3) brings together researchers in thermal energy storage into a Europe-wide network. This organization of like-minded professionals has the goal of increasing the status of thermal energy storage technologies and research throughout Europe.

Additionally, through effective task-based collaboration, the sub-programme aims at improving knowledge-sharing which will enable more successful cooperation between research institutions active in thermal energy storage.
The work in SP3 is broken down into three work packages: Storage Materials, Design and Internal Heat Transfer Concepts and Storage Integration. The work package in storage materials deals with both short-term and long-term material development, particularly thermal properties of salts and PCM as well as the synthesis and characterization of composite PCM, fluids and thermochemical materials. Design and Internal Heat Transfer Concepts examines recent progress in direct and indirect storage devices. Finally, the work package on storage integration covers small-scale TES systems, assessment of systems with an integrated TES and techno-economics of TES systems.

SP3 is also collaborating with the IEA’s implementing agreement Energy Conservation through Energy Storage’s (ECES) Annex 30. Underway since July 2015, this new annex deals with the development of a methodology for characterization and evaluation of thermal energy storage systems.

For more information, visit the website at or contact Duncan Gibb (



Work Packages

WP1: Storage Materials
WP2: Design and Internal Heat Transfer Concepts
WP3: Storage Integration




German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT)
UK Energy Research Centre (UKERC)
Advanced Energy Technology Institute (ITAE)
Center for Energy, Environmental and Technological Research (CIEMAT)
Flemish Institute for Technological Research (VITO)
Brno University of Technology (VUTBR)
Lappeeranta University of Technology (LUT)
University of Basque Country (UPV/EHU)
Institute of Thermomechanics Czech Academy of Science (ITCAS)