Electrochemical Energy Storage (EES)

Coordinator: Edel Sheridan (SINTEF)
Deputy: n.n.


The SP1 program focuses on bring together and coordinating initiatives of the top research institutes and universities working in the fields of Li ion batteries, Post Li ion batteries and Supercapacitors for Energy Storage. Our aim is to give a collective voice to researchers in the field and to generate a platform for open discussion and exchange of ideas between researchers, industry and other relevant stakeholders, which frequently leads to solid long-term collaborations.
The SP1 is structured in to five technology workpackages, which cover the entire value chain from materials up to integration of the energy storage technology. This WP structure reflects the current day situation, in which there is rapid development in electrochemical energy storage not only at the materials level, but also in advanced manufacturing methodologies, battery management systems and integration.

Work Packages

WP1 Materials preparation and Characterization
WP2 Degradation Mechanisms and Post-mortem Analysis
WP3 Scaling up and Manufacturing
WP4 Battery Pack Design and Battery Management Systems
WP5 Integration Activities: Modelling, Safety and Hybridisation